Loading Events



Three daggers drawn: Yorkshire crime fiction triple launch.

by The Leeds Library


Murder…History…Yorkshire. What could go wrong?

Join Frances Brody, Rowan Coleman and Chris Nickson in the atmospheric surroundings of the Georgian Leeds Library for a triple launch of three crime fiction books set in Yorkshire.

Frances Brody’s latest book in the Kate Shackleton series A Mansion for Murder takes place in Saltaire. Kate doesn’t believe in curses, but she wonders what sinister truth lies behind this latest in the litany of deaths connected to the infamous manor house Milner Field.


Rowan Coleman’s gripping gothic thriller The Red Monarch sees Charlotte, Emily and Anne Brontë drawn into the London underworld by a letter from Anne’s desperate friend Lydia, and ultimately a confrontation with an adversary that even the toughest of slum dwellers are afraid of.

And Chris Nickson serves the tenth book in his Tom Harper series, A Dark Steel Death. Deputy Chief Constable Tom Harper is called out in the middle of the night when a huge explosion rips through the Barnbow munitions factory. A month later, there’s a chilling discovery, and a saboteur is running loose on the streets of Leeds.

Frances Brody started her writing life in radio, on Woodhouse Lane. Sisters on Bread Street, one of three historical novels set in Leeds, won the Harper-Collins Elizabeth Elgin award. A Murder Inside, first in the series featuring Nell Lewis, prison governor, was The Times Book Club Pick of the Month. A Mansion for Murder is the latest in the best-selling Kate Shackleton series.

Rowan Coleman (writing as Bella Ellis) is the internationally bestselling and award-winning author of fifteen novels including The Memory Book, The Summer Of Impossible Things and The Girl At The Window. Her latest novel From Now Until Forever will be published in July 2023.

A life long Brontë fan, under the Brontë-inspired pen name Bella Ellis, Rowan also writes the Brontë Mysteries – a carefully researched series of novels that imagine that before they were famous the Brontë Sisters were amateur detectives. The Vanished Bride, The Diabolical Bones and The Red Monarch are out now. A Gift Of Poison will be published in February 2023. 104

Chris Nickson is the author of 26 novels set in Leeds, set between the 1730s and 1950s. A Dark Steel Death is the 10th in his widely-praised Tom Harper series. Publishers Weekly stated that it “reinforces his place in the front rank of historical mystery authors.” Earlier this year, his book The Crooked Spire, set in medieval Chesterfield, was staged as a musical.

Date and Time

Wed, October 26, 2022

7:00 pm - 8:30 pm


The Leeds Library

18 Commercial Street
Leeds, England LS1 6AL United Kingdom

View Map

Events at The Leeds Library